Cyril Englebert

Young Belgian conductor, Cyril Englebert studied at the Liège Conservatory  where he has been graduated in piano and conducting. At the same time, he participates in several international conducting competitions and works with renowned conductors such as Yuri Simonov, Sir Neville Marriner, Patrick Davin, Ronald Zollman, Pierre Bartholomée, Georges-Elie Octors ...

He was also the musical and artistic director of the Jean-Noël Hamal orchestra for six seasons, as well as two choirs from the Liège region. Spotted by Stefano Mazzonis di Pralafera in 2010, he hired him as assistant to the musical direction in November 2010 at the Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège. Several engagements will follow at the head of the orchestral musicians of Liège to ensure the musical direction of several performances hailed by critics (Offenbach / Belle Hélène, Puccini / Tosca, Auber / Manon Lescaut, Offenbach / Orphée aux Enfers, )

These opportunities allow him to work with, among others, Paolo Arrivabeni, Christian Zacharias, Claudio Scimone, Jose Cura, Lionel Lhote, Sumi Jo, Sebastien Droy, Mark Rucker, Daniella Dessi, June Anderson, Jodie Devos, Marc Laho, …

Passionate also by symphonic music, he is regularly invited by the Hulencourt Soloist Chamber Orchestra and the Liege Royal Philharmonic.

Recently he was brought to work at the Metz-Métropole Opera to conduct Donizetti / Don Pasquale and took over at a moment's notice the musical direction of Benatsky / L'Auberge du Cheval BlancHe was then invited back to ensure the openings of the 18-19 and 19-20 seasons with Gounod / Faust and Verdi / Rigoletto.

He is also regularly invited by the Opéra de Reims where he has already conducted several works for the past two seasons (Benatsky / L'Auberge du cheval blanc, Gounod / Faust and Verdi / Rigoletto)

 

Very fond of choreographic work, he conducts his first ballet, Indicible Beethoven in collaboration with the Luxembourg Chamber Orchestra. This creation around Beethoven's music for quartet, of which he also arranges for string orchestra, will be choreographed by Gil Schamber.

 

During the 21-22 season, he can be seen conducting the Reims opera orchestra in Bizet / Carmen. He will also ensure the French creation of the opera of Castelnuo - Tedesco / Aucassin and Nicolette.

 

Cyril Englebert is also in charge of teaching choir conducting at the Intitut Royal de musique et de pédagogie (IMEP) and from septembre '21 at the Conservatoire Royal de Liège

Cyril Englebert

Jeune chef Belge, Cyril Englebert effectue ses études musicales au conservatoire de Liège où il obtient une licence de direction d’orchestre ainsi qu’un master en piano. Parallèlement, il participe à plusieurs concours internationaux et travaille avec des chefs de renom tels que Yuri Simonov, Sir Neville Marriner, Patrick Davin, Ronald Zollman, Pierre Bartholomée, Georges-Elie Octors…


Il a également été directeur musical et artistique de l’orchestre Jean-Noël Hamal pendant 6 saisons ainsi que de deux chœurs de la région liégeoise. Repéré par Stefano Mazzonis di Pralafera en 2010, il l'engage comme assistant à la direction musicale en novembre 2010 à l'Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège. S'en suivront plusieurs engagements à la tête de la phalange liégeoise afin d'assurer la direction musicale de plusieurs spectacles salués par la critique (Offenbach/Belle Hélène, Puccini/Tosca, Auber/Manon Lescaut, Offenbach/Orphée aux enfers,...)

 

Ces opportunités lui permettent de travailler, entre autres, avec Paolo Arrivabeni, Christian Zacharias, Claudio Scimone, Jose Cura, Lionel Lhote, Sumi Jo, Sébastien Droy, Mark Rucker, Daniella Dessi, June Anderson, Jodie Devos, Marc Laho,...

Passionné également par la musique symphonique, il est aussi régulièrement invité par le Hulencourt Soloist Chamber Orchestra et L'Orchestre Royal Philharmonique de Liège.
 

Récemment il fut amené à travailler à l'Opéra théâtre de Metz-Métropole afin d'y diriger Donizetti/Don Pasquale et reprend au pied levé la direction musicale de Benatsky/L'Auberge du cheval blanc. Il est réinvité ensuite afin d'assurer les ouvertures des saisons 18-19 et 19-20 avec Gounod/Faust et Verdi/Rigoletto.

Il est également régulièrement invité par l'Opéra de Reims où il a déjà dirigé ces deux dernières saisons plusieurs ouvrages (Benatsky/L'Auberge du cheval blanc, Gounod/Faust et Verdi/Rigoletto)

Très amateur du travail chorégraphique, il dirigera son premier ballet, Indicible Beethoven en collaboration avec l'Orchestre de chambre du Luxembourg. Cette création autour de la musique pour quatuor de Beethoven dont il assure également l'arrangement pour orchestre à cordes, sera chorégraphiée par Gil Schamber.

Cyril Englebert est également en charge de l'enseignement de la direction de chœur à l'Institut supérieur de musique et de pédagogie de Namur (IMEP) ainsi que professeur de piano et d'histoire de la musique.